Non-Aristo-Craft Revo Installations

Post Reply
beweekly
Associate Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 8:18 am

Post by beweekly » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:31 am

Jerry McColgan wrote:

I only got my NW-2 to work with the Revolution by sending it to Aristo-Craft and whatever magic they used made the lights work.


The simple solution seems to be to totally avoid using the USAT circuit board or send the loco to Aristo-Craft........................

Once Aristo-Craft made my problem go away I stopped paying much attention to this situation................................
Jerry
Jerry, Thanks for the NW-2-REVOLUTION UPDATE and the "real time" picture. :)
And Mr.Polk for the circuity diagram.,Paul as well.- "a Picture is Worth a Thousand Words" :)

I printed out the whole thread for reference...........Finally a cure?! :p

I wonder if I will have to add those 'caps' to my new NW-2 PCB? :confused:
My new USAT NW-2 has not arrived yet to look inside it to visualize how I will proceed.
So I have some more questions for You (and all) on the NW-2 installation:

I will be using the "Non-PNP adapter plug/ with its 7 colored wires"(as you know)and battery power to run my NW-2.

Basic questions:

1.How will my USAT PCB be connected to the adapter plug with it's colored wires?
(I'm trying to be as clear as possible-:o)

2.What color wires connect where on the USAT PCB?, if at all?

3.Again, will I have to add those 'caps' to the USAT PCB , if I don't use the PCB?

4.What if I connect the lights 'directly' to the adapter plug's HD1,HDcom,HD2 wires?

I hope all this makes sense.:o

Thanks Jerry,(all)
Bob E. Weekly

Charlie Z
Associate Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:23 am

Post by Charlie Z » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:51 pm

First, I'm still trying to get the lights to work on a GP-30. See my post from nearly three months ago where I posted photos of the GP-30 boards in hopes someone would suggest capacitor locations.

Since there's been no progress there I'm studying the diagram discussed in this post:
Jerry McColgan wrote:For those of us (like me) who like pictures this may help (assuming I got it right):

Image
It appears that the caps are going onto the diodes that form a bridge rectifier. If you look in my post you'll see 6 diodes along the one edge, of which I assume 4 are used as a bridge (the NW-2 board has 4 together, and 2 on the other end so I'm thinking the GP-30 board just grouped them up). If someone would be so kind as to post the other side of the board seen above it will greatly help me to trace out where the caps are connected. I can then trace out the GP-30 board and figure out the corresponding location.

Assuming I can get the help from you guys on the other side of the NW-2 (or even better, some direct help on the GP-30 wiring) I'll happily post photos and diagrams for others to fix their GP-30 locos.

I have an old NW-2 with incandesent bulbs and it has a completely different set of boards in it so I can't figure that part out without some help to see what the other side of the board in Jerry's post looks like.

I now have three GP-30s I'm trying to get lighting working on. The first one I was okay with it being dark as I just ran it as a non-lead unit, and all went fine. But now I want to have at least one with working lights.

Since I can't haven't figured out how to install the capacitors here, I'm thinking of driving the motors directly out of the Revo RX board (skipping the loco's internal board/wiring) and sending power to the RX and to a DPDT toggle (to set polairty) that I'd then use to feed full track-power into the engine's board to make the lights go. It would mean I wouldn't have remote directional lighting, but at least it would be something.

Jerry McColgan
Associate Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2000 4:00 am

Post by Jerry McColgan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:51 pm

Image

Here are some other images but I have slept since putting the info together so I don't remember exactly what everything represents. Do not take anything for granted.

http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... NW2-10.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10a.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10b.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10c.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10d.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10e.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10f.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10g.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10h.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10i.jpg
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/jerrym ... W2-10n.jpg

Bear in mind that I was NOT successful in my attempts to get the NW-2 lights to work with the Revolution. It was the Aristo-Craft technicians who got it to work for me.

Paul Norton may be your best bet. I believe Paul has installed the Revolution into GP-30's but again my memory may be faulty.

Jerry

Charlie Z
Associate Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:23 am

Post by Charlie Z » Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:08 pm

Jerry, thanks for all of the pics, that one sure looks like it is the other side of the board in question.

I think this is what I needed to trace out the board.

Thank you!

Jerry McColgan
Associate Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2000 4:00 am

Post by Jerry McColgan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:20 pm

Hi Charlie,

The photo is definitely the reverse side of the NW-2 circuit board. It is possible that USAT used more than one version of circuit boards in the NW-2's but all of my NW-2's have the same board.

I was never really sure of my wire tracings of the circuits which is why I cautioned you against trusting my information.

Good luck,

Jerry

Charlie Z wrote:Jerry, thanks for all of the pics, that one sure looks like it is the other side of the board in question.

I think this is what I needed to trace out the board.

Thank you!

Noel Widdifield
Associate Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2000 5:00 am

Revolution receiver in a Accucraft Loco

Post by Noel Widdifield » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:50 pm

I have installed several Revolution receivers in most of my locos, but have not done one of my Accucraft locos. Has anyone done that installation? If so, did you take photos or write a description of how to do it?
Thanks, Noel

Stan Cedarleaf
Associate Member
Posts: 2592
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 4:00 am

Post by Stan Cedarleaf » Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:23 pm

Hi Noel...... Are you installing them as track powered units or battery power?

Either way, as you know it would be necessary to interupt the power pickups from the track on both locomotive and tender wheels and feed those pickups to the input on the REVOLUTION board. Then, back out from the motor leads to the other side of the track pickups. I've done a K-37 and there were no diagrams to go by. Just had to trace the wiring and add input connectors from the locomtive back to the tender as all the boards were installed in the tender. It was quite a process, but it worked. For track power, I would suggest the 6 capacitor board.

Also, I let the OEM "on board" lighting circuits control the lighting and didn't wire them through the receiver.
Image
In May 2015, the PCSRR became a Fallen Flag Railroad
http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/stance ... len_x.html

Noel Widdifield
Associate Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2000 5:00 am

Revolution receiver in a Accucraft Loco

Post by Noel Widdifield » Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:45 pm

Stan,
I use track power.
Thanks, Noel

BRUCE A.
Associate Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:00 am

Post by BRUCE A. » Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:55 pm

Hi , If I use the CRE57078 non P&P board will the USA locomotive lights work ok as from them ?

Jerry McColgan
Associate Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2000 4:00 am

Post by Jerry McColgan » Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:08 pm

Hi Bruce,

The CRE57078 non P&P board has nothing to do with removing PWM from the circuit.

Regarding USA loco lights working with a Revolution, it depends on the locomotive.

Some USA locos seem to work just fine with the Revolution while others (my NW-2's for instance) seem to have a problem with the lighting circuit not working properly with the Revolution.

Others have replaced the NW-2 lights with LED's while others have modified the NW-2 to get the lights to work.

The loco motor etc. seems to run just fine - it just seems to be that some of the USA lighting circuits are more temperamental than others.

What USA Loco do you have in mind?

I just got an Aristo-Craft CRE57005 Super Receiver and one of the things I plan to do with it is to use it to power test tracks to see if the Revolution PWM affects the lights of any USA or other locos before I decide to install Revolutions in them. Actually a regular Revolution could power the test track up to 5 amps.

Good luck,

Jerry


BRUCE A. wrote:Hi , If I use the CRE57078 non P&P board will the USA locomotive lights work ok as from them ?

Post Reply